Home Improvement <3

July 26, 2010

So I woke up this morning and felt like nesting.  Can’t really describe it, but it’s been a while since we’ve done anything to get settled into our new apartment.  I think we’ve been putting certain projects off assuming that they would cost too much money, but what I realized was that if we do them in pieces it will help us feel more at home an the expense would be minimal.

We still have SEVERAL things to do in our little apartment, but today we tacked our DIY entertainment center (including our wall mount, and shelf for the speakers and Jay’s computer).  We also put together our “open-box-clearance” Ikea platform bed.

We have had the wall mount for the tv for a very long time dating back to the days of Circuit City.  It was such a great purchase back when we had Jay’s discount and has saved us a ton on entertainment center furniture.  It’s easy to move, and easy to mount, and it doesn’t take up ANY space (which is helpful in a 500 square ft apartment)!  I’ve always thought having a TV above a fire place would create the coziest environment for a living room.  I’m really excited for the fall + winter where I can curl up with a movie and a little fire going.

In terms of the bed situation… We never had one in Texas but when we sold all of our “free” furniture pre-move to Colorado, we decided to shop Ikea for a futon that was on sale so we’d have something to crash on once we arrived.  We ended up finding a great platform bed on supah clearance in the open box section.  We haven’t put it together in the three months we’ve been here because we needed “slat’s which we assumed would be pricey.  You know what they say about assuming….. lol

Home Depot has clearance wood…. yes.

We had them slice up a few planks for us for a great price and we were on our way toward a great nights sleep!  I’ve been sleeping on the floor for the better part of a year and I think I finally snapped and I’m glad! We have a Bob-0-Pedic so there’s no need for a box spring…..aka we were literally inches away from the floor every night.

I am SO looking forward to cuddling up in my new bed tonight and I’m sure my Jason is going to pass out the second his head hits the pillow after all his hard work today!

We still have a few adjustments to make on both projects both including paint.  We are going to paint the shelf under the tv to match the couch and eventually the coffee table which also needs to be painted and we are planning on sanding and painting the bed to match my white vanity.  This may have been another deterrent to these projects, but like I said there’s nothing wrong with doing part of project NOW if it means you can enjoy it NOW.  We’ll make everything match eventually, but at least it gives me more space in the living room and a bed to sleep it at night!

Even though we still have a long way to go, it feels good to be at home little by little nesting my way into a Colorado life.

As far as the rest of day off #1 goes, we’re going to finish up some cleaning post-project messes, make some din, and bring our pup to the doggy park down the street.

Until next time my loves, try to appreciate the little things today.

Ps. my two projects today have created quite the dilemma.  Do I a.) Cuddle up in the living room and enjoy the new local of the TV or b.) utilize the new comfy bed and tackle a few more chapters of Breaking Dawn which has become increasingly more interesting since this morning.  What are your thoughts? 🙂

3 Responses to “Home Improvement <3”

  1. fakhikid said

    I’ve been all over the internet the last few days digesting every piece of information I can get. Sorry my english, but this is great site and nice text , I wil add to my bookmarks. Thank you.

  2. It is really refreshing in the feeling once you’ve succeeded designing and improving your home in such a way that you are comfortable… Excellent blog!

Leave a comment